Class 2

For the second class of Developing Your Photographic Eye, we blue-tacked our work to the walls of the room and then looked at each other’s work with Claudia leading the discussion. Many of the photographs were taken on mobile phones and although interesting reflections of those who made them did not reveal true photographic quality. I like to see a photograph that has been well printed rather than gouged out of some machine like a photocopier.

In the end, I decided to show my supermarket photos although I was tempted by the car wash images as well as the making porridge photos. The supermarket photos showed a certain consistency as a group! The car wash photos were a bit repetitive while the porridge sequence missed the bowl of porridge which had been taken but not printed!

A lot of the images shown by others were quite interesting in a number of ways. There was an interesting array of rain drops forming a design on what appeared to be a car bonnet but was in fact a man hole photographed under eerie light, the lights of a car shining animal like through a metal grill, a blue sky with a touch of yellow sunrise beyond a silhouette of houses …

The initial comment on my photos was that they were enjoyable and people seemed to respond positively to them though one woman’s remark that they looked like images from an instructional manual on how to use the supermarket made me question their value. Yes, perhaps they could fit into that category yet they were also my experience of shopping there. It may not have been meant as a criticism but it did hurt a little – perhaps I might have made more imaginative images such as close-ups of food and other items yet I wanted to communicate something recognisable to others.

The brief had stressed the need to adopt a different viewpoint and I had done this by crouching so that I was not looking down on the scenes I captured.

Leave a Reply

